Resources‎ > ‎



National Scholarships

There are two types of nationally awarded Eagle Scout scholarships. One type is academic scholarships, which include a varying number of $3,000 scholarships awarded each year by the National Eagle Scout Association, and a varying number of Mabel and Lawrence S. Cooke Scholarships. The Mabel and Lawrence S. Cooke Scholarships are awarded annually and include four $20,000 scholarships (payable at $5,000 per year) and one $48,000 scholarship (up to $12,000 payable for four years), plus a varying number of others. Scholarship committees are formed each year in each of the four BSA regions (Northeast, Southern, Central, and Western) to recommend recipients of these scholarships, with the final determination made by the national NESA Scholarship Committee.

The other type of national Eagle Scout scholarship is the Hall/McElwain Merit Scholarship. Each BSA region reviews applications and awards a varying number of these $1,000 scholarships.

More than 5,000 NESA scholarship applications are received each year, and fewer than 150 are awarded, so the competition is stiff. Plans are being formulated to greatly increase the amount of funds available to award NESA Eagle Scout scholarships through future years.

NESA academic scholarship applicants must be Eagle Scouts graduating high school and entering college in the year for which they apply for a scholarship. Scholarships are awarded only to those who graduate from high school in the calendar year in which scholarships are presented. Exception: Scouts whose Eagle Scout boards of review are held the same year of their high school graduation may apply in that calendar year. They may receive a scholarship one time only.

NESA merit scholarship applicants must be Eagle Scouts graduating high school or undergraduate college students no farther than completion of the junior year. Recipients may receive the scholarship one time only.

These scholarship applications are due December 31.  Here is a link to the NESA scholarship applications and information.

Council Awarded Scholarships

The Council also administers a scholarship for Eagle Scouts called the Belcher Eagle Scholarship.  Three (3) scholarships each year and are renewable for a second year.  Applications for this scholarship are due April 30.  Here is a link to information and application for the Belcher Scholarship.

Troop Scholarships (aka campership, aka endowment)

Through generous donations from community members and scout families, Troop 271 offers scholarships to our scouts who are in need of financial assistance.  All aid is confidential.  Only the three scoutmasters currently serving on the committee see the completed applications, due December 15.